login   |    register
Photography
Questions about shooting your models and dioramas? Ask here.
New Feature: Image Compression
staff_Jim
Staff MemberPublisher
KITMAKER NETWORK
#002
_VISITCOMMUNITY
New Hampshire, United States
Joined: December 15, 2001
KitMaker: 12,456 posts
ModelGeek: 2,713 posts
Posted: Saturday, July 05, 2003 - 04:37 PM UTC
I have published a little piece on understanding image compression levels and their benefit. I hope it's useful to some of our users.

Here it is.

Cheers,
Jim
Kencelot
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Florida, United States
Joined: December 27, 2001
KitMaker: 4,268 posts
ModelGeek: 0 posts
Posted: Sunday, July 06, 2003 - 03:28 AM UTC
Jim, terrific article. Should help with the many photo questions.
I would also like to share with all reading this that there is a FREE Powerful Image Editing Software that can easily be downloaded and put quickly to use.
Go here to get it: PhotoPlus 5.5
scoccia
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Milano, Italy
Joined: September 02, 2002
KitMaker: 2,606 posts
ModelGeek: 760 posts
Posted: Sunday, July 06, 2003 - 03:39 AM UTC
Thanks Jim,
reading your article I just had the confirmation that I'm already doing right : it's exactly what I was doing. So... I will put together the B1 Centauro article for the "Content Contest" Campaign!!!
Ciao
slodder
_VISITCOMMUNITY
North Carolina, United States
Joined: February 22, 2002
KitMaker: 11,718 posts
ModelGeek: 3,131 posts
Posted: Sunday, July 06, 2003 - 04:22 AM UTC
Nice job. I like the article. It will come in handy. I think a lot of members will enjoy this one.

Great job.
scoccia
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Milano, Italy
Joined: September 02, 2002
KitMaker: 2,606 posts
ModelGeek: 760 posts
Posted: Sunday, July 06, 2003 - 04:51 AM UTC

Quoted Text

I would also like to share with all reading this that there is a FREE Powerful Image Editing Software that can easily be downloaded and put quickly to use.
Go here to get it: PhotoPlus 5.5



Tanks for the link Kencelot. I've been there but the only compatibility with the Photoshop plugins is from version 6 onwards. Have you got any idea if they work with the free 5.5 version too?
Tks
sweatydogz
_VISITCOMMUNITY
England - West Midlands, United Kingdom
Joined: January 22, 2003
KitMaker: 114 posts
ModelGeek: 0 posts
Posted: Monday, July 07, 2003 - 10:32 AM UTC
Nice one Jim. I have have just spent a small fortune on a new camera, so this is going to come in well handy.

Many thanks
Kencelot
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Florida, United States
Joined: December 27, 2001
KitMaker: 4,268 posts
ModelGeek: 0 posts
Posted: Monday, July 07, 2003 - 10:55 AM UTC
Scoccia, as far as Iknow it does support some plugins like Photshops. I have the program installed on my PC now just have not gotten around to fooling with it yet.

Here's another free one: VCW VicMan's Photo Editor

another: Oriens Enhancer GOLD version 2.6
Merlin
Staff MemberSenior Editor
AEROSCALE
#017
_VISITCOMMUNITY
United Kingdom
Joined: June 11, 2003
KitMaker: 17,302 posts
ModelGeek: 1,142 posts
Posted: Monday, July 07, 2003 - 06:34 PM UTC
Hi Jim

Thanks for a very handy article - it'll be a great help.

One point I'm not sure of concerns the actual image size in pixels. Does some kind of "automatic" scaling happen when pictures over 600px wide are posted into an Armorama column?

I recently posted some pics of my finished Bf109 and was surprised that some of the straight lines had gone "wiggly" - which wasn't visible in the original 640x480 JPEGs.
Measuring the pics on screen showed they'd been scaled down for the post.

I've just replaced one pic with a 600 px wide version - and it looks much better. :-) (I could post examples if you're interested). Maybe it's worth explaining "scaling" in your article.

On a different, but related, note. How do I reply to more than one of the kind comments with the "quote" feature? I've noticed some folks manage to include several quotes in their posts.

Sorry, I'm still a newbie, but I'm learning... I promise :-)

Cheers

Rowan
Holdfast
Staff MemberPresident
IPMS-UK KITMAKER BRANCH
#056
_VISITCOMMUNITY
England - South West, United Kingdom
Joined: September 30, 2002
KitMaker: 8,574 posts
ModelGeek: 626 posts
Posted: Friday, July 25, 2003 - 07:35 AM UTC
:-) Nice article Jim
I discovered this save for web feature and now get close to a hundred pics in my 3mb storage at the Armorama MSN site. Pictures I have sent in for the gallery were saved at the medium setting, am I right in assuming that when you receive them, at this setting, you can't increase the the setting?

Rowan,
Multi quotes:
1. Place the quotes [quote]put quote text here[/quote ] I have added a space before the close bracket to prevent "put quote text here" becoming quoted text. So if your quote doesn't work it's likely you altered the code. Note the / before the second "quote".
2. Copy the text you want to quote (Highlight it then press Ctrl+c). Nice article Jim
3. Highlight the area, between the quote ]...................[/quote. Careful not to cut off the brackets.
4. Hit Ctrl+v which will paste your copied text
Quoted Text

Nice article Jim


5. Do this for each quote.

Quoted Text

I discovered this save for web feature



Quoted Text

and now get close to a hundred pics in my 3mb storage at the Armorama MSN site.


HTH
Mal
Merlin
Staff MemberSenior Editor
AEROSCALE
#017
_VISITCOMMUNITY
United Kingdom
Joined: June 11, 2003
KitMaker: 17,302 posts
ModelGeek: 1,142 posts
Posted: Friday, July 25, 2003 - 08:18 AM UTC
Hi Mal

Thanks for the explanation :-) I think it might take a bit of practise, but I'll get it sussed!! :-)

As regards your point re: increasing the quality setting after a pic is posted, I think I'm safe in saying "No... you can't put back what isn't there (as far as the recipient is concerned)". Once an image is compressed to "medium" or however the software describes it (mine is numeric), the data is lost.

There is so-called "lossless compression", but I don't think it applies in this case.

Thanks again

Rowan
staff_Jim
Staff MemberPublisher
KITMAKER NETWORK
#002
_VISITCOMMUNITY
New Hampshire, United States
Joined: December 15, 2001
KitMaker: 12,456 posts
ModelGeek: 2,713 posts
Posted: Friday, July 25, 2003 - 08:35 AM UTC

Quoted Text

I have sent in for the gallery were saved at the medium setting, am I right in assuming that when you receive them, at this setting, you can't increase the the setting?

Mal



You are correct sir. Images can not be upsized without loosing image quality or resolution. This makes it a good idea to keep raw versions of your images on your local machine so you can get them later if needed.

Thanks,
Jim