login   |    register

Scale Modeling Sponsors

See Your Ad Here!

User Support
This forum deals with technical issues, email problems or other support related issues.
How to Upload Photos...
staff_Jim
Staff MemberPublisher
KITMAKER NETWORK
#002
_VISITCOMMUNITY
California, United States
Joined: December 15, 2001
KitMaker: 12,326 posts
ModelGeek: 2,712 posts
Posted: Friday, August 25, 2017 - 05:19 AM GMT+7
Hi Kelly,
This issue with Photobucket has nothing to do with Armorama or anything on our site. THEY are stopping images from being shown on sites other than PB. Unless you pay of course.

Hope that clears it up.

Jim
JPTRR
Staff MemberManaging Editor
RAILROAD MODELING
#051
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Tennessee, United States
Joined: December 21, 2002
KitMaker: 6,954 posts
ModelGeek: 427 posts
Posted: Friday, August 25, 2017 - 03:42 AM GMT+7
Here's how to load and post photos in KMN: http://railroadmodeling.kitmaker.net/modules.php?op=modload&name=SquawkBox&file=index&req=viewtopic&topic_id=256943&page=1
KellyZak
_VISITCOMMUNITY
British Columbia, Canada
Joined: August 19, 2003
KitMaker: 635 posts
ModelGeek: 96 posts
Posted: Friday, August 25, 2017 - 03:17 AM GMT+7
Holy crap, did not realise that, I remembered I had a PB account and only just went into it yesterday for the first time in years. So is it verboten to use all 3rd party photo hosting sites for Armorama? If not, any suggested sites? The only reason I went back to my PB was I was having some issues yesterday afternoon trying to upload some pics to my Kitmaker account, I tried uploading like 10, but it would only take 3, and I still had a fair amount of space left, I'll try going back to my KM account and try again.

Sorry for all of this, I've been out of the game for a while, it feels like I'm starting from scratch again
justsendit
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Colorado, United States
Joined: February 24, 2014
KitMaker: 2,430 posts
ModelGeek: 4 posts
Posted: Thursday, August 24, 2017 - 06:58 PM GMT+7
I was wondering how the image hosting site whom shall remain nameless (PB) even got mention so far along in this thread — especially after the past three months! ... If no one else will say it, I will ... Avoid PB like the plague; it is a nasty virus that has spread throughout the web forums demanding $400 per year to allow you to store and post images from their very pop-up intensive site to another third-party site — just another form of cyber ransom.

No cheers!
—mike
staff_Jim
Staff MemberPublisher
KITMAKER NETWORK
#002
_VISITCOMMUNITY
California, United States
Joined: December 15, 2001
KitMaker: 12,326 posts
ModelGeek: 2,712 posts
Posted: Thursday, August 24, 2017 - 05:46 PM GMT+7
Ahh... well if you are just trying to get your photos to show up in a post FROM Photobucket I may be the bearer of bad news. This was all over the place in the past 3 months but they changed their policy and no longer allow free accounts to display their images on 3rd party sites. Just Photobucket.

Is that what you were trying to do?

Cheers,
Jim
KellyZak
_VISITCOMMUNITY
British Columbia, Canada
Joined: August 19, 2003
KitMaker: 635 posts
ModelGeek: 96 posts
Posted: Thursday, August 24, 2017 - 03:03 PM GMT+7
Thanks Jim, I'll give it another go, it's weird, the BBCODE I was trying was to get them to show up directly into the post, but like I said, it gave links to my photobucket, I'll get it I'm sure, just have to play around
staff_Jim
Staff MemberPublisher
KITMAKER NETWORK
#002
_VISITCOMMUNITY
California, United States
Joined: December 15, 2001
KitMaker: 12,326 posts
ModelGeek: 2,712 posts
Posted: Thursday, August 24, 2017 - 12:01 PM GMT+7
Hi Kelly,
Do you mean like have the system download them from your Photobucket account into your KitMaker one? If so, yeah it won't do that. That would require a lot of hand-shaking between our servers and Photobucket's and I don't even think they would allow that.

If you are trying to move photos from Photobucket you'll need to download them and re-upload them to ours.

The BBCode you mentioned is just for getting them to show up in the forums.

Best wishes,
Jim
KellyZak
_VISITCOMMUNITY
British Columbia, Canada
Joined: August 19, 2003
KitMaker: 635 posts
ModelGeek: 96 posts
Posted: Thursday, August 24, 2017 - 11:17 AM GMT+7
Hey Jim,
I just tried posting a bunch of photos from my photobucket and am having some issues. yesterday I posted from my Kitmaker album but I wanted to add from photobucket.

So I tried doing the BBCODE [img] option so they would show up directly in my post. There are 4 options on photobucket for sharing:

Direct, HTML, Email, and IMG. So I chose the IMG, copied and pasted the link like in the longer photo posting link below, spent like 20 minutes doing this and posted. When I looked at the post, all of my photos were actually links to photobucket. I'm sure I followed this method correctly, but why did they all turn to links instead of showing up in the post?

It's been a few years from doing this so I'm trying to relearn all of this again..thanks, Kelly
JClapp
#259
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Massachusetts, United States
Joined: October 23, 2011
KitMaker: 2,072 posts
ModelGeek: 0 posts
Posted: Sunday, April 05, 2015 - 04:19 AM GMT+7
The tab may have been called "photos" when Jim wrote that post.
It is now called "gallery".
CMOT
Staff MemberEditor-in-Chief
ARMORAMA
#406
_VISITCOMMUNITY
England - South West, United Kingdom
Joined: May 14, 2006
KitMaker: 10,040 posts
ModelGeek: 236 posts
Posted: Sunday, April 05, 2015 - 03:58 AM GMT+7
If you are having issues use the link at the end of Jim's post as that may help you with the issue.
bomber14
_VISITCOMMUNITY
New Jersey, United States
Joined: February 02, 2015
KitMaker: 157 posts
ModelGeek: 0 posts
Posted: Sunday, April 05, 2015 - 02:52 AM GMT+7
jim your tutorial on uploading photos is a little vague. you don't mention that you need to go to the gallery and that is where you find the my photos in the left hand corner for starters. there is no "photos" box on the navigation area of areoscale either.

joe
staff_Jim
Staff MemberPublisher
KITMAKER NETWORK
#002
_VISITCOMMUNITY
California, United States
Joined: December 15, 2001
KitMaker: 12,326 posts
ModelGeek: 2,712 posts
Posted: Friday, April 06, 2012 - 01:16 PM GMT+7
To upload photos try these quick steps...

1. Click on the "Photos" tab in the main navigation area.

2. If you are logged in already on the photos site you will not see a "Login" link on the upper right. If you see it login with your KitMaker username and password.

3. Click on "My Photos" in the upper left.

4. If you want to put your photos in a distinct album you can create one by using the "Create a New Album" links.

5. Click "Upload Photos" either on the upper right or if you are adding them to the new album where it is displayed with the album info.

6. When uploading files from your computer keep in mind they MUST BE smaller than 3mb or they will not upload at all. Google image re-sizing if you need help making your files smaller.

7. Follow the directions from this point to finish uploading your files and adding info and titles, etc.


For more help you can try this longer explanation which also goes into how to post photos in the forums.